Gunashree excels in yoga meet – The Tribune

Posted at: Aug 12, 2019, 8:09 AM; last updated: Aug 12, 2019, 8:09 AM (IST)
Scores 160 points to claim girls’ 8 to 10 years title; Yakshita finishes second

  • Also in this section

Winners in a jubilant mood during the concluding ceremony of the 35th Chandigarh State Yoga Sports Championship at Government College of Yoga Education and Health, Sector 23, on Sunday. Tribune photo

Tribune News Service

Chandigarh, August 11

Gunashree Sharma of Ankur Public School, Panjab University, claimed the first position by scoring 160 points in the girls’ 8 to 10 years age group on the concluding day of the 35th Chandigarh State Yoga Sports Championship here today. 

Yakshita scored 156 points to claim the second position, while Vaishali and Vanya finished at joint third by scoring 154 points each.

In the boys’ category, Nihal (146 points) claimed the top position, followed by Kartik (144 points) and Viikas Nagar, Khusneet (137 points). In the girls’ 10 to 12 years age group, Manit Kaur (157 points), Pratibha (151 points) and Aarti (147 points) claimed the first three positions. Deepish (155 points), Viney (363 points) and Nikhil (140 points) won the first three podium positions in the boys’ category.

Jaya won the girls’ 12 to 14 years age group event by scoring 157 points. She was closely followed by Joban (156 points) at the second spot. Angelina (154 points) and Gurkiran Kaur (154 points) claimed the joint third position. Mohd Anush (161 points) claimed the boy’s category title, while Saarthak Khajuria (160 points) and Mohit (153 points) claimed the second and third spots, respectively.

Ankita (155 points) claimed the girls’ 14 to 16 years title, while Tanisha and Kamini claimed the joint second position with scores of 137 points. Tanu finished behind them with a score of 132 points. In the boys’ section, Krishna (169 points), Ryan Atri (160 points) and Ram Kumar (159 points) won the top three honours. In the girls’ 16 to 18 years age group, Jyoti (169 points), Malika (165 points) and Khushboo (151 points) finished in the first three positions, while Abhay (169 points), Ankit (167 points) and Dev (160 points) were the top performers in the boys’ category. In the girls’ 18 to 21 years category, Payal (142 points), Baby (132 points) and Charu (130 points) took the first three spots, while Dalip (170 points), Viney (161 points) and Ishwar (153 points) claimed the top spots in the boys’ category.


Girls (21 to 25 years) 

Megha Bhandari (164.5 points), Jyoti (159.5 points), Amit Chahal (156 points)

Boys (21 to 25 years) 

  Parbhakar (169 points), Navin Jaiswal (145 points), Sikandar Kumar (117 points) 

Women (25 to 30 years) 

Radha Negi (131 points), Dhyutima (123 points), Aarti Juglan (116 points)

Men (25 to 30 years) 

Shreyas Markendeya (158 points), Rajesh Pawar (136 points),Shivam Kumar (130.5 points)

Women (30 to 35 years) 

Poonam (144 points), Priyanka Thakur (142 points), Maina Rani(140 points), Pinki Poohala (140 points) 

Men (30 to 35 years) 

Umesh Kumar (122 points), Bharat Gupta (107 points)

Women (35 to 45 years) 

Aruna (160 points), Manisha (150 points), Radha Singh (138 points)

Men (35 to 45 years) 

Kulwant Singh (141.5 points), Roshan Lal (136 points), Rupinder Singh (121 points) 

Women (above 45 years)

Neelam Sharma (141 points), Neena Pondir (120 points), Santosh (119 points) 

Men (above 45 years)

Ramgopal Yadav (127 points), Shamsher Singh (119 points), Durga Das (114.5 points), Ramniwas Yadav (114.5 points) 


Men (below 30 years)

Shahenshah (134 points), Rajkumar Upadhaya (86 points)

Women (below 30 years)

Geeta Gautam (139 points), Gayatri (135 points), Geeta (134 points) 

Men (above 30 years)

Ravinder (115 points) 

Women (above 30 years)

Shivani (146 points), Aarti Tiwari (129 points), Kiran Sharma (113 points), Pooja Bawa (72 points)